#NephMadness 2020: The Blue Ribbon Panel

Introducing the Blue Ribbon Panel (BRP) for NephMadness 2020:

These 9 members decide the outcome of each matchup. Get to know them below:

Kirk Cambell @kirkcampbell
Kirk Campbell is Associate Professor of Medicine, Vice Chair for Diversity and Inclusion, and Director of the Nephrology Fellowship Program at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. He is a physician scientist with an interest in glomerular disease. He is the President of the New York Society of Nephrology, a member of the Board of Directors of the Nephcure Foundation, and a standing member of the Pathobiology of Kidney Disease (PBKD) study section of the National Institutes of Health.

Richard Knight @knightra
Richard A. Knight is a healthcare professional and a former hemodialysis patient. He received a kidney transplant approximately 13 years ago. He is President of the American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP), a member of the Transplant Roundtable, a member of the NIDDK Board of Advisors, Co-Chair of the Community Engagement Committee on the Kidney Precision Medicine Project, and Co-Chair of the Patient Engagement Subgroup for NIDDK’s Strategic Plan.

Holly Kramer @kramer_holly
Holly Kramer is Professor of Public Health Sciences and Medicine in the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at Loyola University Medical Center. She is President of the NKF and Vice Chair of KDOQI Controversies and Commentaries. Because she is a Hoosier, she is by default a huge basketball fan. 

Magdalena Madero @MagdalenaMadero
Magdalena Madero is the Chief of Nephrology at the National Heart Institute in Mexico City. She runs one of the largest renal fellowship programs in the country. She serves as International Editor for AJKD and as a member of the KDIGO Executive Committee. She was the former President of one of the Mexican Societies of Nephrology (IMIN) and was chosen as Deputy Chair for the ISN for Latin America and the Caribbean. 

Kimberly D. Manning @gradydoctor
Kimberly D. Manning is Professor of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine and spends her time teaching learners and caring for patients on the wards and in clinics at Grady Hospital. She’s passionate about medical education, diversity, and humanism—all of which she champions in her leadership roles (and on #medtwitter!)

Vandana Niyyar @vandyniyyar
Vandana Dua Niyyar is Professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology at Emory University. Her main clinical interests are in ESKD, with specific expertise in vascular access and ultrasonography. She is passionate about promoting multidisciplinary collaboration in the field of vascular access in order to optimize access care and processes for dialysis patients. Dr. Niyyar is President-Elect of the American Society of Diagnostic and Interventional Nephrology (ASDIN).

Jessica Reid-Adam @DoctorJRA
Jessica Reid-Adam is an Associate Professor in the Division of Pediatric Nephrology and Hypertension, Associate Professor of Medical Education, and the Associate Director for Diversity Initiatives in the Jack and Lucy Clark Department of Pediatrics at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and Mount Sinai Kravis Children’s Hospital. She is also the Pediatric Residency Program Director. Dr. Reid-Adam serves on the Education Committee of the American Society of Pediatric Nephrology.

Roger Rodby @NephRodby
Roger Rodby is Professor of Medicine at Rush University Medical Center and Program Director of their nephrology fellowship program. He is a Community Leader for the ASN’s online Communities, and Co-Director for the ASN Board Review course. He is a member of the ASN’s Media and Communications Committee and a member of the AJKD Social Media Advisory Group.

Mark Rosenberg @rosey424
Mark Rosenberg is a nephrologist at the University of Minnesota where he is also the Vice Dean for Education and Academic Affairs overseeing the continuum of medical education from admissions to medical student, resident, and fellow education to continuing medical education and professional development. He is Past President of the American Society of Nephrology after serving as President in 2019. 


#NephMadness | @NephMadness | #BlueRibbonPanel



2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. #NephMadness 2021: The Filtered Four – AJKD Blog
  2. #NephMadness 2021 Champion: Implantable Bioartificial Kidney – AJKD Blog

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: